End-of-Semester Reflection

I’m officially halfway through my second year as a Booster staff member, and so much has changed. Yesterday, I re-read my old reflections during composition class. I’m proud to say I’ve accomplished the goals I originally set for myself. I’ve taken on so much more responsibility this year. Originally, I came in as the Business Manager. I’ve thoroughly enjoyed this job.

Billing businesses may not sound like a fun job, but it’s something I like. In the beginning, I didn’t really know how to do it and needed a lot of help from Mrs. Jerrell to get things done. Recently, I’ve done it completely by myself. I even have mailed delivered to me sometimes, which is pretty cool.

In addition to being Business Manager, I’ve taken on the responsibility of Web Director. Our old Web Director, Nick, is leaving to attend online school. He’s been pretty good at updating the site and all, but I’m hoping we can start having stories with more depth to them put online. I’ve talked to Mrs. Jerrel about a new way to assign stories that will hopefully help fix this. The main plan is that instead of having people think of “online” story ideas, we can just pull from ideas that we were going to put in the actual paper. This could improve both the quality of our paper and the online version, because it will be more a competition to get into each one. Also, I’ve created a Facebook page for us to start building a more stable online community. I think this will really help get a little more community recognition (even though we already have over 36,000 views). I think this whole online thing will be my next big project.

Once again, I think my biggest contribution has been to just being as flexible as I can. I make graphs and do a lot of what I feel are odd or last minute jobs, which have helped as much as anything. Since I don’t have a direct leadership role (web director kind of is now, but we’ll wait to see how I pan out with that), I think just being a resourceful staff member and letting everyone know that they can rely on me to do quality work is the best contribution I can give.

Hopefully next semester I can continue my goal of improving the paper, especially our online version.

Leave a comment